TechNeate.com iPhoneate.com QueComico.com MiamiGlobalRadio.com

Disable location history on Facebook and save your iPhone's battery.

by Lisander González / October 24, 2015 10:31 AM EDT

For some time now, iPhone users have been complaining about battery life. But it was recently discovered that one app in particular can drain your battery very quickly . If you've downloaded the Facebook app on your iPhone, it's time to start reviewing the Facebook features that are causing your phone to use a lot of power.

Save your iPhone's battery by disabling Facebook's location history.

This feature allows users to locate their friends in their current location using GPS . With a simple data synchronization, all your friends can know your location, and vice versa. However, despite its widespread use, this option has also generated considerable dissatisfaction due to the significant battery drain that often occurs after using GPS to locate someone.

Facebook has just released an update to its iOS app that fixes the excessive battery drain issue. We'll show you how to disable location history on Facebook so you can enjoy longer battery life.

How to disable Location History on Facebook

  1. Log in to your Facebook account using your iPhone.
  2. Select the option “More"which is located at the top in the tab bar.
  3. Click on the option "Close friendsAnd if the option does not appear, means that the location history It has not yet been used and therefore has no record of searching for friends in the area.
    3. Click on “Never” or “While using the App”.
  4. Then click on the gear icon.
  5. Select the option “Location settings” and click on 'ON'so that you can activate location history indoors or outdoors.

However, that's not all you'll need to do. After disabling location history within the app, you'll need to change the location access settings for the Facebook app on your phone. So, if it's set to " Always " or " While using the app ," you'll need to change it to "Never." But don't worry, we'll tell you how to do that below.

How to change your iPhone's location access settings for Facebook

  1. Go to the launch settings on your iPhone.
  2. Click on the option Privacy > Service Locations > Facebook.
  3. Click on “Never” or “While using the App”.

“Never” option vs “During use of the App”

Both options are valid; however, choosing "Never" will stop all location tracking that the app typically uses. It will also prevent certain location features from working. On the other hand, the "While Using the App" option allows you to access your location while using Facebook, whenever the location feature is visible on the screen.